top of page

3 Steps to your Journal Introduction

January 21, 2021 Student Canvas Jamaica



Your introduction acts as an opening to the artistic journey of your journal . It does not need to be long winded or over the top, but a clear explanation of what the viewers of your journal are to expect from your body of work and how you will go about completing your work. Again don’t make it too long but be very descriptive.

This is a simple three step example, the artists and student named are all fictional. Remember, when you attempt your own introduction make it personal and try to connect with the reader. Don’t forget to cite information you use from elsewhere and most of all, watch your spelling and grammar.


Step 1:

Introduce yourself and your theme. This may be done through a brief quote, statement, facts, poem etc. so long as it is relevant to your theme. You may also start off with a direct approach.



E.g. 1: My name is David Barrows, I am a fifteen year old art student of Merry Go Round High school. My theme “ Artistic representations of Jamaican Wetlands” focuses on the wetlands of Jamaica and the flora and animals that live in the various wetlands around the island.


E.g. 2: “Wetlands may vary in size -- from a small neighborhood pond to millions of hectares. But, whether big or small, the functions of wetlands are much the same -- they provide humans with fuel, food, recreation, and employment.”- Arlene Martin

Wetlands are a main source of survival for the animals living there. Just as the quote above, wetlands are a large part of our survival. My theme “ Artistic Representations of Jamaican Wetlands” will showcase the wetlands of Jamaica and the flora and animals that use them as their habitats.



Step 2: Speak briefly about your theme, the expressive forms you have selected and how you will showcase this theme through the respective expressive forms. This section alone will cover a great portion of your introduction, as you give an idea of what your work will look like. You may also mention briefly your connection to your selected artists and your theme.



E.g. Wetlands support a variety of animal and plant life that would otherwise be extinct if they did not have the sanctuary of the wetlands. Wetlands are also very effective in protecting human life and create the balance needed for all life to coexist and thrive. The wetlands however, are under attack through direct and indirect human involvement.

The expressive forms I will investigate through my theme are Painting & Mixed Media and Graphic & Communication design. My paintings will highlight the beauty and natural elegance of the wetlands. I intend to use a variety of textured materials such as tree bark, magazine clippings, etc to capture actual textures which exist in the wetlands as well as using techniques like frottage to capture implied textures. Analogous colour schemes will be used to represent the vibrant, yet earthy colour palette of the wetlands in my paintings. I will also include imagery of animals which are not only well known to the wetlands but are endangered. Andrew Jackson a Guyanese artist has inspired my ideas for my paintings and I wish to carry over a similar use of textures and colours in my work.


I am very inspired too, by Greg Parker , a Jamaican Graphic designer and his use imagery and text . It is with this in mind, that my plans for my Graphic & Communication design works include the creation of a logos, brochures and posters; that will also utilize imagery of animals from the wetlands. However, I intend to include more of the flora present in the wetlands in my graphic design pieces to highlight their benefits as well as promoting eco tourism.

Earth tone, complementary colour palettes, exciting imagery of the various wetlands will be utilized to create a fresh, yet engaging campaign to encourage people to take care of the wetlands on our island.



Step 3: Explain what you want viewers to learn or take away from your body of work.

E.g. It is my hope that those who will view my work will be enlightened about the natural beauty of our wetlands through my paintings and that they will equally be informed about the necessity in protecting the wetlands of our country. By highlighting the importance of our wetlands through my artwork, I hope to effect some change in our actions towards the wetlands.




We hope this was helpful in getting over your introduction challenges. Let us know in the comments if you have any questions which were not addressed in our steps above.

Opmerkingen


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page